Green Pastures

Do not those two words paint a serene picture that just beckons you to lie down? It does me. And I do so love the outdoors! Once it gets nice enough, I love being outside breathing in fresh air, feeling a breeze against my face, and the warm sun shining down on me. There’s something about being outside in nature that brings serenity.

One of the definitions of serene means calm, undisturbed. Isn’t that the feeling we get when we are at rest?

In Psalm 23 verse 2, David said the Lord makes him to lie down in green pastures. The Lord makes him rest.

How? How does the Lord make David or even us rest? Call me crazy, but I think the green pastures is a symbolism of God. The only way we can lie down and rest is if we know the character of God. Lying down requires trust.

If we know God is trustworthy, we will lie down.

“In peace I will both lie down and sleep; for you alone, O Lord, make me dwell in safety.” Psalm 4:8

Lying down in green pastures is to rest in the knowledge of  God and His loving care for us.

Is life chaotic? Do you have unrest? Lie down.  Know that your Heavenly Father loves and cares for you.

If you don’t know that, then that makes lying down difficult. The best remedy then is to know Him. When you know someone you can begin to trust.

Fear and mistrust will keep us from lying down. But oh! Once we know–truly know that God loves us unconditionally and that His heart towards us is always for good, lying down is easy, breezy.

2 thoughts on “Green Pastures

  1. Great reminders! I really like this, “Lying down in green pastures is to rest in the knowledge of God and His loving care for us.” Such good truth. I need to find some green patches of grass and soon!!

Leave a Reply

