When It’s Time To Lie Down

 

Now is the time to peak into my journal entry for the day as a follow-up to my recent devotional post. Get excited! Ok. Not that excited. It’s not really from my own personal journal. 😉

 

Allow me to confess here: Lying down in green pastures is not really easy. It is only easy if you fully trust, but let’s be honest here. Nobody really trusts that completely right away. At least very few people I’ve met in my life seem to have this trust thing down. I certainly don’t.

 

When is the time to rest? Usually, for normal people with normal day time jobs, night time is the time to lie down. For us, as Christians,

when is the time to lie down?

 

I can’t tell you all the times in my life where the Lord seems to literally force me to lie down. I had no other choice. So I went down, but not without a fight. Call it pride and/or a desire for self-reliance. I wanted to figure things out for myself rather than rely on the wisdom of God, or I wanted to be in control. Either way a fight ensued to get me to lie down and relax!

 

Circumstances sometimes dictate a need to let go, because as the circumstance will reveal, you’re not in control like you thought you were. Things happen. Life happens and it throws you for a loop. You have no idea how to get out of the situation. All you know is you have no control over what is happening. You are completely at the mercy of God.

 

If you’re like me, your mind is constantly rolling around ideas, trying to look at the situation from all angles. (If you read my “About” page, you know my claim to using both sides of my brain at times, which brin

gs a war in my head! Oy vey! Most of the time though, I’m right-sided.) My left brain kicks into high-gear, and I’m using logic to figure things out. I analyze everything. If you’re like me, then you know this is an exhausting exercise.

 

Once I finally wear myself out, I lie down. “OK, God, You can take control.”

 

I wonder if this is why the writer of Hebrews says “to strive to enter into the rest of God (Hebrews 4:11 ESV).” Strive? Why strive? The word strive seems to indicate a need for some effort on our end. Why does it takes some effort for us to enter into God’s rest?

 

My guess is probably because we have the tendency to pick up “our work”. At least I do. I keep trying to work to please God instead of

Bed Jump

Bed Jump (Photo credit: jamesjyu)

resting in the knowledge that He has provided everything I need. I struggle with believing that I am accepted in the Beloved. There’s is nothing I can do to earn God’s favor or make Him love me more than He already does. Likewise, there is nothing I can do to make Him love me less.

(Additional caption for photo on the right: Now that’s what I call striving to rest! haha! 🙂 )

 

I must strive to stop working. Strive to stop achieving God’s favor and love. Stop trying to earn His blessings and receive. I must fight these tendencies to control God and get Him to do what I want. He has already provided all I need. Praise God from whom all blessings flow! Amen?

 

Yes, He makes me to lie down in green pastures, and I am thankful there are times I don’t have a choice, because it reminds me who really is in control. It is God who is in complete control. He sees the bigger picture of my life. He knows where I’m headed, though I can hardly see two feet in front of me. Pretty much, I see no other choice but to trust Him to lead me to those still waters through the path of His choice for my life until He brings me to that final rest in Him at the end. My work is to practice lying down now.

 

When is the time to lie down? Now. Now is the time to learn to rest.

 

13 thoughts on “When It’s Time To Lie Down

  1. This was so great! I particularly liked this, “There’s is nothing I can do to earn God’s favor or make Him love me more than He already does. Likewise, there is nothing I can do to make Him love me less.” Not even kidding, from this morning at bfast with some friends I have been thinking that phrase, “There is nothing I can do to make God love me any more, & there is nothing I have done to make Him love me any less than He does right now.” Ugh! Such beautiful truth! I remember that wording from JD Greear’s book ‘Gospel.’

    Again, great post!!

      • Indeed. And we shall. 🙂 My favorite authors right now are Philip Yancey and Ravi Zacharias. I’m reading 6 books right now. Partly because I’m somewhat ADD. haha! Books I’m reading now: Multiply by Francis Chan (reading this one for church Bible study), He Speaks To Me by Priscilla Shirer, The Source of My Strength by Charles Stanley, You’re Made For a God-Sized Dream by Holley Gerth, No Wonder They Call Him Savior by Max Lucado, and Scarlett (just finished reading Gone With the Wind so next logical book to read would be, of course, the sequel).

      • A fellow ADD reader! Woohoo! I’ve only read that Max Lucado book. I like Ravi too! Right now I’m reading Touching the Holy by Robert Wicks and Speaking the Truth in Love by David Powlison. I just finished Keller’s The Meaning of Marriage, Andrew Murray’s Humility and Abba’s Child by Brennan Manning.

      • LOL! I have Ravi’s The Grand Weaver, The End of Reason: A Response to the New Atheist (short book but good!), and The Cries of the Heart. I listen to his podcasts too. He is the C.S. Lewis of our time. Great thinker and apologist. 🙂 I haven’t heard of Robert Wicks or David Powlison. Another great book on marriage, Sacred Marriage by Gary Thomas. It is fabulous! Andrew Murray…classic Christian literature. I need to add him to my list! 😉 I’ve read C.S. Lewis Mere Christianity and I have a few more (a few? ha! More like a bunch!) I need to read which are on my list. I read Watchman Nee’s Sit, Stand, Walk last year. It’s a small book too, but sooo much to glean! I’ve never read any Timothy Keller books yet.

      • I liked The Grand Weaver! Read that last year. Wicks was a recommendation by Brennan Manning, so I had to pick it up & Powlison’s book is about Christian counseling. I’ll have to get Sacred Marriage & that one by Watchman Nee. I need more C.S. Lewis books. Maybe once I finish my next batch.

      • Hmmm…well, I’ll have to check out Wicks sometime. If I decide to get into Christian counseling, I’ll pick up Powlison. 😉 I’ve been considering that for awhile. I just finished two books in the past few days. 🙂 Now, I started The Hiding Place by Corrie Ten Boom. Yeah! Excited to get through this one! I saw the movie, but haven’t read the book yet. Forgot to mention another book I’m in the middle of reading; it’s a biography of Frank Sinatra. It’s interesting, although, somewhat sad. I read a biography on Cary Grant. That was sad! He had a sad life.

  2. You definitely were not lying about being an ADD reader! I’ve been wanting to read the Steve Jobs bio, but it’s been getting pushed down the list. Haven’t read the Hiding Place yet, heard a lot of good stuff about it! I’m about to start Renovation of the Heart by Dallas Willard and A Long Obedience in the Same Direction by Eugene Peterson. Stoked for both!

    • Haha! Oh, I finished a Eugene Peterson book a few months ago, Eat This Book: The Art of Spiritual Reading. Great insight into the history of language and translation! It was really good. I highly recommend it! I’ve been wanting to read a Dallas Willard book called, Hearing God: Developing a Conversational Relationship With God. I read a quote from the book in a Bible study I did recently with my church. Yeah, it would be interesting to read about Steve Jobs. Let me know how that goes whenever you decide to read it. Those other books sound good too! Keep me posted on those as well.

Leave a Reply

