The Love That Surpasses Knowledge

And to know this love that surpasses knowledge–that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God. ~ Ephesians 3:19

Author: Bagande

What kind of love surpasses knowledge? I can think of a few. How about that relationship between the geeky guy and gorgeous model? Ever seen one of those and wonder what does she see in him? Maybe it isn’t looks or appearance that confuses you. Maybe it’s personality. “He’s so boring! What could she possibly see in him that would make her fall for him?” Doesn’t make sense to you, does it? It doesn’t me either.

This love that surpasses knowledge that Paul speaks of in this verse is a love that doesn’t make sense. In other words: it bypasses your brain. It transcends logic. Why God loves me doesn’t make sense. It makes sense when a person loves someone else because they find them attractive and lovable. I agree with the truth of Scripture that there is no good thing in me, in my heart (Romans 7:18). I am prone to wander and prone to selfishness and unbelief. Oh yes! And pride! Ugly, unattractive pride!

Yet, despite all these God loves me. Proof is found in the death of His Son as it says in Romans 5:8, “But God shows His love for us that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”

I could ponder the theological reasoning for God’s love such as the one that says because God is love He loves us, but still that doesn’t help my brain wrap around the concept. Humans commit such unspeakable acts against each other. We seem to be bent on destroying ourselves and yet God continues on loving us. He insists on it.

Rather than wear myself out trying to figure out God’s love, I accept it. The truth is no matter what I do or don’t do God loves me. No matter if I commit the most vile crime, He loves me. No matter if I don’t check all the tasks off my to-do list, He loves me. Even if I can do nothing for Him but lay in bed all day attached to machines that help me breathe, He still loves me.

What a liberating truth! No longer do I need to worry myself over getting things done or doing some great thing for God so He will love me. I can just be His child. He’s already done the work to make me His. The cross was God’s work to bring me to Him. My priority now is to know Him. Whatever service I do for others will be an outflow of the work God has done in me.

So if you struggle with doing things for God because you think you have to earn His love, find rest in this truth: He loves you no matter what you do or don’t do. Does it makes sense? Heck no! And I’m glad it doesn’t.

8 thoughts on “The Love That Surpasses Knowledge

Leave a Reply

