You Already Won {Coffee for Your Heart}

Hey, ya’ll! I’m sorry I haven’t posted the latest Coffee for Your Heart til now.

You’ve ever had those weeks where you feel like your efforts are in vain? Nothing you do is right. You tried to get everything on your to-do list done, yet find yourself not accomplishing all what you set out to do. They say men struggle with the fear of failure, but I think women do too. I know I do!

Knight by sincerelyhiten

photo by sincerelyhiten.

I set out to write a blog to post on Wednesday. I started out Monday working on my finances and before I knew it, time went flying by, and the window of opportunity closed. After that I vowed to work on the blog the next day, but then something else came up. I was asked to teach on Wednesday so I worked on that instead of writing Tuesday night. Since then, no time became available to me to work on writing til now.

Besides that, I had moment after moment this week where I failed at something or perceived to have failed. My failures seemed to pile up high in a heap. I picked apart my deliverance of the lesson from Wednesday and thought of how horrible I was.

What’s a girl to do?

I don’t know how I ended up with this man-related weakness, but my self-worth seems to be tied to what I do. I know it’s not supposed to, but at times I find that it is.

It’s that need for the applause of men. A pat on the back for a job well done or a word of praise, a little affirmation to let you know you are right on. Instead, you get nothing. All you hear is the sound of crickets in the background.

At one point you were certain you were doing the will of God and then next, you’re questioning whether you and God are on the same page.

From there my mind flashes forward into the future and predicts this is the way it is always going to be. I will never get it right and never measure up. I will never be able to do enough and be enough. I will always fail.

These self-defeating thoughts keeps me from experiencing the victory God has already won for me.

I know these thoughts are definitely not from God. They are from the enemy of my soul who seeks to devour my faith in Christ.

Beloved, I am standing here before you (metaphorically speaking), in my own vulnerability to let you know today, if this is your struggle, we can stand on the promises of God.

Put away those thoughts that come to you to tell you are defeated.

“We destroy arguments and every lofty opinion raised against the knowledge of God, and take every thought captive to obey Christ.” 2 Corinthians 10:5

How do I know?

Because the Word of God promises us that we are more than conquerors because of Christ’s work on the cross (my paraphrase, Romans 8:37).

Are you facing tough battles today that seem to be overwhelming you? Know this, my friend, you have already won!

I am telling myself this and now I am telling you, mighty warrior of God: Pick up your sword with your battled-weary hand and keep at it til you see the victory manifested. He will provide all the strength you need.

“For the weapons of our warfare are not of the flesh, but divinely powerful for the destruction of fortresses.” 2 Cor. 10:4

“For I hold you by your right hand–I, the Lord your God. And I say to you, ‘Don’t be afraid, I am here to help you.'” Isaiah 43:13

In Christ, you have already won!

You are reading Coffee for Your Heart which comes to you from Holley Gerth’s place, www.holleygerth.com. If you would like to join in the weekly encouraging writing prompts, get yourself on over there and sign up to receive her email. This day’s writing prompt is from the theme “No matter what happens, you’re going to be ok because…”

Coffee for Your Heart with Holley Gerth

With Holley Gerth

Enhanced by Zemanta
4 thoughts on “You Already Won {Coffee for Your Heart}

  1. ((walks in–high five’s my dear friend’s hand that greets me)) Once again you have posted something that goes right to my heart!! God uses you to speak to me so often. (I was born with that man-related weakness, too–sigh)) Thank you for posting!! 😀

  2. this is a timely reminder for me, too! Thank you for sharing from your heart … The enemy knows well how to discourage us from the things that bring God glory. He stand to accuse us continually … condemns and makes us feel useless. Let’s pray we listen to the voice of Truth, Jesus Christ himself, who loved us so very much that He gave His life for us … HE LOVES YOU!!!!

Leave a Reply

