Prayers for When Your in a Battle

The Holy Spirit depicted as a dove, surrounded...

The Holy Spirit depicted as a dove, surrounded by angels, by Giaquinto, 1750s. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I ran across this prayer by Ted Loder that I had to share. This prayer is taken from Loder’s book, Guerrillas of Grace: Prayers for the Battle. If you’re like me, this prayer is like apples of gold. It is just the prayer for me right now as I face some spiritual battles.

How shall I pray?

Are tears prayers, Lord?

Are screams prayers,

or groans

or sighs

or curses?

Can trembling hands be lifted to you,

or clenched fists

or the cold sweat that trickles down my back

or the cramps that knot my stomach?

Will you accept my prayers, Lord,

my real prayers,

rooted in the muck and mud and rock of my life,

and not just the pretty, cut-flower, gracefully arranged bouquet of words?

Will you accept me, Lord,

as I really am,

messed up mixture of glory and grime.

 

He hears every sigh, every groan.

“O Lord, hear me as I pray; pay attention to my groanings.” Psalm 5:1

The Holy Spirit helps us pray when our mouths move but no words come.

“The Holy Spirit helps us in our distress. For we don’t even know what we should pray for, nor how we should pray. But the Holy Spirit prays for us with groanings that cannot be expressed in words.” Romans 8:26

I am thankful today that the Lord hears my sighs. He hears and He will answer.

Just wanted to share this short blurb to any who are in a battle and need to hear the promise that God’s ear is attuned to our cries.

Blessings in the name of Christ! 🙂

6 thoughts on “Prayers for When Your in a Battle

  1. This is a great prayer, and how cool is it to know that the Lord’s answer is “Yes!”

    Thanks for sharing this… I can definitely see myself using this in a Men’s Bible Study or something along those lines in the future…

Leave a Reply

