Wanted

A heart being used as a symbol of love. Photo ...

A heart being used as a symbol of love. Photo modified by author using Photoshop. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

One of the worst feelings in the world is not feeling loved. Once your dating partner decides to put a halt to all your relationship dreams and all your left with is a haunting suspicion that you’re not wanted. You’re no longer enough for this person to carry on a relationship with you so it’s on to greener pastures for him or her.

Unwanted.

Undesirable.

I experienced these unsavory feelings at a young age before I even began to think of dating. These feelings are not only regulated to the world of dating, but also the world of school children everywhere.

Who hasn’t experienced rejection at some point in their life? Some of us experience it much earlier than others.

As a child of 6, I began the first grade with anticipation and high hopes of beginning new friendships and reconnecting with the old ones I started in kindergarten.

You could say 1st grade didn’t start out as planned. First the friend I made in kindergarten rejected me for no reason. And if that wasn’t bad enough, a group of girls began to mercilessly harass me to the point where I no longer liked going out to recess. In fact, I developed a fear of the recess bell.

The bullying lasted the whole year and left a great wound in my heart.

“You’re not wanted,” hissed the enemy into my ear. “Nobody wants you for a friend. Nobody likes you. You’re worthless that’s why no one wants you.”

This time of my life I was not a believer yet, but the enemy knew he had to get his licks in while I was young, and plant some bad seeds into my heart and my mind.

The first grade hell I went through affected me even into adulthood. It took a few broken dating relationships for me to begin listening to the Father voice speak Truth to my heart and heal the wounds

Can you relate to my story?

Have you been wounded by rejection? It doesn’t have to come from a dating partner to hurt deeply. Maybe the wound came from your peers, people you thought were your friends. Or maybe it came from your parents. Maybe you messed up so badly they no longer want to speak to you.

Please hear the message God spoke to me in the days where I felt abandoned and rejected:

“I want you. I made you because I wanted you.”

We wait so long to hear these words coming from the one we love. The one we long for but whose love seems out of reach.

I’ve been there. I’ve pined away for the love of a man who couldn’t love me, and at the same time these words from God chased after me.

“I want you! Come to me!”

This message is all over Scripture.

Don’t believe me?

“The Lord did not set his heart on you and choose you because you were more numerous than other nations, for you were the smallest of all nations! Rather, it was simply that the Lord loves you…” Deuteronomy 7:7-8

I hear the follow-up question coming. “Why does God loves us?”

The answer might not sound flattering, but it has everything to do with who God is and nothing to do with who we are. Matthew Henry puts it this way,

“He loved you because He would love you.

Looking at the verse again in Deuteronomy, you realize the message was specifically written for the nation of Israel after they were delivered from Egypt. Israel was a small nation compared to the great nation of Egypt and the other nations around them. Israel was a stiff-necked, rebellious nation. No sooner had they left Egypt and enter the wilderness then they decided to worship a golden calf rather than the God that just delivered them. Nothing in them to merit God’s favor.

If we are honest, there is nothing in us to merit God’s favor either. There is nothing we can even do to merit it. But love us He does! Want us He does!

While that takes away any entitlement we might be tempted to feel, this truth points to the greatness of who God is.

There might not be anybody else in the world that wants you, but there is a God in heaven who does. He is the One that created you. He knows you inside and out. The good, the bad, the ugly. He knows you by name. He even knows such miniscule details about you such as how many hairs are on your head (Matthew 10:30). Your tears are even counted and kept by Him in His bottle (Psalm 56:8).

Are you wanted?

Absolutely! And by the only One that really matters.

The only thing left for you to do is to believe it.

 

9 thoughts on “Wanted

  1. Amen! What an encouraging faith-filled post. We all need to be reminded of how wanted we are by God especially during moments when people we care about in this world don’t seem to want us at all. Thank you for sharing this!

  2. I know I will be visiting this post often. I think I’ll print it and post it in my bedroom or bathroom so that I will see it everyday and be reminded that I am loved by the One who truly knows how to love me totally, fully and completely, like no human every could. Beautifully written. I’m glad I discovered your blog.

    • Praise God! I’m humbled to know the words from my mind to my fingers God used to speak to you. It is a wonderful truth this love of God toward us who have nothing to give back to God that He needs. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

